Skip to main content

Dr. Kay Hoffman

​The Established Faculty Service and Leadership in Social Work Education Award is presented to Dr. Kay Hoffman.

Dr. Hoffman is professor and dean emerita of the College of Social Work, University of Kentucky (UK), where she served for 20 years. Retired in 2018, Dr. Hoffman continues her work with PhD students and supervises an evaluation team of researchers examining prevention responses in child welfare and public health. At UK she was the Dorothy A. Miller Professor in Social Work Education and a member of the Kentucky Institute of Medicine. Her scholarly work is in social work education, child welfare, and international social work.

Dr. Hoffman was president of the Council on Social Work Education and chair of the Commission on Accreditation, served on the board of the International Association of Schools of Social Work, and has been a visiting faculty member at the University of West Arad in Romania and a senior scholar at CSWE. She won the Significant Achievement Award from the College of Arts and Sciences, Ohio University; the Friend of School Social Work Award from the Kentucky School Social Work Association in 2007; and was NASW Social Worker of the Year at the New River Valley Chapter in Virginia. She is past president of the Michigan Council on Crime and Delinquency and the Detroit Welfare Reform Coalition.

Dr. Hoffman continues to be active in her local community, having served as the president of the Plantory, an incubator for nonprofit organizations, and president of the Center on Human Entrepreneurship Solutions Group. Presently, she is a board member of the Peninsula Art Academy. She is a graduate of Ohio University, the Ohio State University, and Wayne State University in Detroit. She was a faculty member and academic administrator at Marygrove College, Wayne State University, New Mexico State University, and Radford University in Virginia prior to her tenure and retirement from UK.


Award: Established Faculty Service and Leadership in Social Work Education Award