2018 PIE Awards


The CSWE Commission on Global Social Work Education is pleased to announce the 14th Annual Partners In International Education (PIE) Awards program, honoring the contribution of social work faculty members, social work students (BSW, MSW, or PhD), and organizations as partners in advancing education for international social work. The PIE Awards are given in recognition of conceptual, curricular, and programmatic innovations in education for international social work. Priority is given to U.S.-based nominees.

The PIE Awards will be presented at 8:45 am, immediately preceding the Hokenstad International Lecture at the CSWE Annual Program Meeting in Orlando, Florida, on Saturday, November 10, 2018.

Eligible Recipients

Up to three awards are given annually, one for reach of the following categories of contributors to education for international social work:

  1. Social work faculty member
  2. Social work student (BSW, MSW, or PhD level)
  3. Local (APM host city), national, or international organizations



Award recipients receive an engraved plaque honoring their contributions to the advancement of education for international social work. Awards are presented jointly by the chair of the CSWE Commission on Global Social Work Education and the chair of the PIE Awards Committee. There is no financial support associated with this award.


Nominations Process

All nomination submissions must include the following:

  1. The name and contact information for each nominee
  2. The nominator’s rationale for the nomination (with a clear statement concerning the innovations made by the nominee in advancing education for international social work)
  3. Documentation in support of the nomination (e.g., a current curriculum vitae and copies of selected publications for individual nominees; or, in the case of organizational nominees, copies of relevant stories concerning the nominee organization in the public media, as well as a detailed description of the activities engaged in by the nominee that contribute to the advancement of education for international social work)
  4. Other materials that nominators believe would be helpful to the PIE Awards Committee in reviewing the merits of nominees. Please limit submission materials to 6 pages, excluding CVs (for individuals)

Reviewers will use the evaluation rubric to score each nomination.

Nominations must be submitted through FluidReview. Instructions can be found here. Please note that the application will require you to complete form fields and upload a cover letter and your nominee's CV.  E-mailed or incomplete nominations will not be accepted.

Nominations are open to individuals, students, and organizations located either in or outside the United States. Preference will be given to nominations that have a demonstrable link to the advancement of education for international social work in the United States.