Skip to main content

2020 Hokenstad International Lecture

This lecture series was launched in 2007 through an endowment from M. C. “Terry” Hokenstad, a former president and long-time member of CSWE. The lecture is always given during the CSWE Annual Program Meeting. The program serves to enhance and complement the work of the Katherine A. Kendall Institute for International Social Work Education (Kendall Institute) as well as CSWE's Commission on Global Social Work Education.

The call for nominations was open from April–May 2020. The lecturer will be annouced Summer 2020.

Nomination Criteria

The CSWE Commission on Global Social Work Education reviews all submissions. It selects each year’s lecturer based on the nominee’s body of scholarly work that enhances and complements the work of the Kendall Institute and the CSWE Commission on Global Social Work Education, using the following criteria:

  • The nominee’s accomplishments promote standards of excellence for international work that are consistent with the values of social work education, research, and practice.
  • The nominee has developed innovative international content in social work education or a related field and has published educational materials for internationalizing the curriculum.
  • The nominee has demonstrated success with the implementation of programs and initiatives that facilitated collaboration in the global social work community.
  • The nominee has advanced theory and practice for global social work education.
  • The nominee demonstrates a connection to the conference theme, “Leading Critical Conversations: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.”

Consideration will be given to regional and gender diversity, noting that thus far there have been no representatives from Latin American, or indigenous nations.

Nomination Process

All nomination submissions must include the following:

  • Nominator and nominee information
  •  Proposed topic for lecture (limited to 12 words)
  •  A letter indicating how the nominee meets selection criteria, specifically, how the nominee's international accomplishments are consistent with the values of social work education, research, and practice (maximum of 2 pages)
  •  Nominee's current curriculum vitae
  • A YouTube link to an example of the nominee speaking publicly

Previous Lecturers

Year Country Speaker
2019 Italy Annamaria Campanini (PowerPoint Slides)
2018 Trinidad & Tobago Innette Cambridge
2017 Australia Manohar Pawar
2016 Slovenia Darja Zaviršek
2015 South Africa Vishanthie Sewpaul
2014 Israel Asher Ben-Arieh
2013 South Africa Stefanus Snyman
2012 Singapore Tan Ngoh Tiong
2011 Sweden Sven Hessle
2010 Jamaica Peta-Anne Baker
2009 South Africa Fikile N. M. Mazibuko
2008 India Vimla Nadkarni
2007 Australia Jim Ife