Skip to main content

Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee will be formed to support the Director in his or her efforts to build the Center for Diversity and Social & Economic Justice, ensure the availability of adequate financial resources, achieve strategic priorities, and develop national prominence by providing strategic advice in areas such as: curriculum and educational strategies, faculty development, research strategies, organizational structure, communication, resource development, networking and advocacy, and content and subject matter.

The Advisory Committee bring distinctive knowledge in:

  • Curriculum and educational strategies, including learning theories and effective methods for teaching about social justice.
  • Faculty development, including providing opportunities for growth for faculty in the realms of diversity and social and economic justice.
  • Research strategies, including planning and conducting rigorous relevant research, and dissemination of findings.


Advisory Committee Members

Mimi Abramovitz
Bertha Capen Reynolds Professor of Social Work
Hunter College

Rocio Calvo
Associate Professor
Boston College 

Matt Epperson
Associate Professor
University of Chicago 

Carrie Pettus-Davis
Assistant Professor
Washington University in St. Louis 

Lorraine Gutiérrez
University of Michigan 

Jenny Jones
Dean and Professor
Clark Atlanta University

Ruth McRoy
Donahue and DiFelice Professor
Boston College

Luis Zayas
Dean and Robert Lee Sutherland Chair in Mental Health and Social Policy
University of Texas at Austin