Skip to main content

Members in the News

Mike Gorman (San Jose State), former CSWE CSOGE commissioner, presented at the 36th Annual Fulbright Conference in Washington, DC on human rights, LGBT persons, and Fulbright’s current challenges and future directions. Gorman is a three-time Fulbright awardee, a long-standing advocate of human rights issues, and a 15-year member of CSWE.

The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) has elected former CSWE Chair of the Board Mildred “Mit” Joyner a NASW Social Work Pioneer. NASW Pioneers are social workers who have explored new territories and built outposts for human services on many frontiers.

Julia M. Watkins, former CSWE executive director, was awarded a second year continuation as an international scholar under the Academic Fellowship Program of the Open Society Foundations to continue her work in Bosnia and Herzegovina for 2013–2014.