Doctoral Student Policy Forum

CSWE-SSWR-GADE Social Work Doctoral Student Policy Forum

June 16–19, 2021 (Virtual)

Forum Overview

The CSWE-SSWR-GADE Social Work Doctoral Student Policy Forum, co-sponsored by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), the Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR), and Group for the Advancement of Doctoral Education in Social Work (GADE), is a unique opportunity to connect social work research with policymaking in the nation’s capital. Students who are accepted will join the 2020 cohort to receive specialized training and attend Capitol Hill meetings. The training and meetings are tentatively scheduled for June 16–19, 2021. All activities will be conducted remotely. If you have questions about the Forum, please contact Dr. Tanya Smith Brice.

Program Purpose

The objectives of the CSWE-SSWR-GADE Social Work Doctoral Student Policy Forum are to create an opportunity for doctoral students to make a stronger link between their research and policy, expose social work researchers to the ways their research experience and backgrounds are used by practitioners in government to influence and inform policy, promote the value and significance of investments in social work and social work research on Capitol Hill, and cultivate a cadre of social work researchers who can advocate for investments in social work education and research as well as disseminate this information among their communities of practice.


The application cycle for the 2021 Social Work Doctoral Student Policy Forum is now closed. 


2021 Cohort

Jeanna Campbell, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign Jeanna_Campbell_Photo.jpg
Tasha Childs, University of South Carolina  Tasha-Childs-Headshot_500x615.png
Alberto Cifuentes, Jr., University of Connecticut CIFUENTES_PIC_1.jpg
Natalie Fensterstock, University of California - Los Angeles Natalie-Headshot-May-2021_500x647.png
MarĂ­a Gandarilla Ocampo, Washington University in St. Louis  GandarillaOcampo_ProfilePhoto.jpg
Leonardo Kattari, Michigan State University   Leonardo-Kattari_550x686.png
Erin Nolen, University of Texas at Austin Erin-Nolen.jpg
Erica Pence, The Ohio State University Erica-Pence.jpg
Christopher Sharp, University of Southern California Chris_Sharp_Phx_Indian_School_481x602.png
Miguel Trujillo, University of Denver Trujillo-Pic.jpg

2020 Cohort

Latoya AttisYeshiva University
Lynden BondNew York University
Shih-Ying ChengWashington University in St. Louis
Brett GreenfieldRutgers University Brett Greenfield
Kim HokansonBoston College Hokanson-Photo-(002).jpg
Jessica LaphamUniversity of Washington
Abigail Palmer MolinaUniversity of Southern California
Analidis OchoaUniversity of Michigan
Tasha PerdueUniversity of Southern California
Kelli RogersUniversity of Texas at Arlington
Erin StanleyWayne State University