Feminist Scholarship Awards

The CSWE Council on the Role and Status of Women in Social Work Education annually names feminist scholar and manuscript awardees (formerly feminist scholarship honoree and awardee) who have advanced feminist knowledge as it pertains to social work theory, research, practice, policy and education. 

2014 Feminist Scholar Award Recipient: Noël Bridget Busch-Armendariz

Noel Bridget Busch-Armendariz pictureThe 2014 Feminist Scholar Award winner is Noël Bridget Busch-Armendariz, PhD, LMSW, MPA. Dr. Busch-Armendariz has more than 20 years of experience working to end interpersonal violence. She is a professor and associate dean of social work research, director of the Institute on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault (IDVSA), and the editor-in-chief of Affilia: Journal of Women and Social Work. Her areas of specialization are domestic violence, sexual assault, refugees, asylees, victims of human trafficking, and international social work. She is regularly called as an expert witness in criminal, civil, and immigration cases and directs a national training on the topic. She is well published and has been recognized by her colleagues and students with many teaching awards and other recognitions.


2014 Feminist Manuscript Award Recipient: Elithet Silva-Martínez

Elithet Silva Martinez pictureThe 2014 Feminist Manuscript Award winner is Elithet Silva-Martínez, PhD, MSW for her paper "Permítanme Hablar": Historias de Valentía de Latinas Migrantes Sobrevivientes de Violencia/"Allow Me to Speak": Histories of Bravery among Latina Survivors of Violence. This article presents the results of a critical ethnography conducted with Spanish-speaking Latinas in the Midwest of the USA. The goal of this study was to engage in an in-depth examination into the perceptions of Latinas who survived intimate partner violence regarding help-seeking, and to lay the groundwork for taking action to facilitate the empowerment of Latinas and their communities.