2017 Hokenstad International Lecture

2017 Hokenstad Lecture


DEADLINE EXTENDED: Nominations will be accepted through June 5, 2017.

The CSWE Commission on Global Social Work Education is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Hokenstad International Lecture. The lecture series was launched in 2007 through an endowment from M. C. “Terry” Hokenstad, a former president and long-time member of CSWE. This year's lecture will be given during the CSWE Annual Program Meeting in Dallas, Texas, on Friday, October 20, from 9:15 am–10:15 am. The lecturer will be provided international airfare (economy class), 2 nights of hotel accommodation, a conference registration, and an honorarium of $1,000 (US).

Nomination Criteria for the Hokenstad International Lecture

The CSWE Commission on Global Social Work Education will review all submissions. It will select this year’s lecturer based on the nominee’s body of scholarly work that enhances and complements the work of the Katherine A. Kendall Institute for International Social Work and the work of CSWE’s Commission on Global Social Work Education, using the following criteria:

  • The nominee’s accomplishments promote standards of excellence for international work that are consistent with the values of social work education, research, and practice.  

  • The nominee has developed innovative international content in social work education or a related field and has published educational materials for internationalizing the curriculum. 

  • The nominee has demonstrated success with the implementation of programs and initiatives that facilitated collaboration in the global social work community.

  • The nominee has advanced theory and practice for global social work education.

  • Consideration will be given to regional and gender diversity.

Previous Lecturers

Year Country Speaker
2016 Slovenia Darja Zaviršek
2015 South Africa Vishanthie Sewpaul
2014 Israel Asher Ben-Arieh
2013 South Africa Stefanus Snyman
2012 Singapore Tan Ngoh Tiong
2011 Sweden Sven Hessle
2010 Jamaica Peta-Anne Baker
2009 South Africa Fikile N. M. Mazibuko
2008 India Vimla Nadkarni
2007 Australia Jim Ife

Nomination Process

Please send a completed nomination form and the nominee’s CV to [email protected] by 11:59 pm EDT on June 5, 2017.