CSWE President and CEO Receives the CRISP Political Advocate Leadership Award

Published on : March 13, 2017

Darla Spence Coffey Honored for Cultivating Social Workers’ Participation in Public Policy

ALEXANDRIA, VA—Darla Spence Coffey, MSW, PhD, president and CEO of the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), has been presented the Political Advocate Leadership Award by the Congressional Research Institute for Social Work and Policy (CRISP). Coffey is recognized for her leadership in increasing social workers’ involvement in public policy through the CSWE Center for Diversity and Social & Economic Justice and the Coalition for Policy Education and Practice in Social Work.

“I am deeply honored and humbled to receive the Political Advocate Leadership Award,” said Coffey. “CRISP’s partnership has helped CSWE expand the audience we reach with our public policy efforts. Our work is far from done—I look forward to continuing our collaboration in tackling both the challenges of today and tomorrow.”

Coffey was presented the award March 8 at a reception following CRISP’s third annual Social Work Day on the Hill. The event honored the lifelong contributions of former Congressman Edolphus “Ed” Towns, who served 15 terms in the House of Representatives, chaired the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform, and created the Congressional Social Work Caucus in 2010.

Photo of Former Congressman Ed Towns and CSWE President and CEO Darla Spence Coffey
Former Congressman Ed Towns and CSWE President and CEO Darla Spence Coffey receive recognition at CRISP’s Social Work Day on the Hill Reception.
"The Political Advocate Leadership Award honors everyday heroes who address social challenges that affect the society and world,” said CRISP Chief Operating Officer Angela S. Henderson. “Darla is an exemplary leader who has worked tirelessly to bring social workers into the public policy arena. We are so appreciative of her work.”

Patricia White, executive director of the Fund for Social Policy and Education and Practice at The New York Community Trust, also received the Political Advocate Leadership Award, and Senator Debbie Stabenow received the Congressional Advocate Award.

CRISP is an independent, nonpartisan organization that recognizes the importance of the Congressional Social Work Caucus. The organization aims to increase awareness of the benefits of social work in communities, schools, and workplaces to help vulnerable populations achieve self-sufficiency.
Founded in 1952, CSWE is the national association for social work education in the United States. Its members include over 760 accredited baccalaureate and master’s degree social work programs, as well as individual social work educators, practitioners, and agencies dedicated to advancing quality social work education. Through its many initiatives, activities, and centers, CSWE supports quality social work education and provides opportunities for leadership and professional development, so that social workers play a central role in achieving the profession’s goals of social and economic justice. CSWE’s Commission on Accreditation is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation as the sole accrediting agency for social work education in the United States and its territories. Learn more at www.cswe.org

Follow us on Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter.
[email protected]