Partners in International Education Awards

Partners in International Education Awards

The CSWE Commission on Global Social Work Education is pleased to announce the 19th annual Partners in Advancing International Education (PIE) Awards program, honoring the contribution of social work faculty members, social work students (BSW, MSW, or PhD), and organizations as partners in advancing education for international social work. The PIE awards are given in recognition of conceptual, curricular, and programmatic innovations in education for international social work. Priority is given to U.S.-based nominees.

​The PIE awards presentation will precede the Hokenstad International Lecture at the 2023 CSWE Annual Program Meeting (APM) in Atlanta, GA. To apply, visit the CSWE Submittable page. Deadline is April 7th 11:59 PM (EDT).

Eligible Recipients

Up to three awards are given annually, one for each of the following categories of contributors to education for international social work.

  1. Social work faculty member (current members of the Commission on Global Education and those who are within a year of completing their term on this Commission are not eligible to apply for the award).

  2. Social work students or student group (BSW, MSW, or PhD level; social work graduates within 2 years of graduation, relative to the timing of the APM conference, are eligible to apply).

  3. Local (APM host city), national, or international organizations.

2022 PIE Award Winners

Individual Winner

Dr. Rosemary Barbera
Associate Professor, Department of Social Work
Chair and Program Director, Social Work 
Lasalle University 


Organization Winner


Founders: Dr. Jane McPherson & Dr. David Androff

Student/Student Group Winner(s)

Green Social Work Student Group
California State University 
Britney Hayes
Lisa Raimondo
Samantha Keiser
Nohely Padilla-Aguiar
Monica Salgado
Jocelyn Garcia
Lea Carrasco
Jovana Perez-Hernandez
Rachel Riojas  


Previous Awardees

Year Individual Organization Student 2015–Present/Program 2004–2014
2021 Robin S. Mama,
Monmouth University
The American Place, Hartford Public Library  
2020 Martha Bragin,
Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College, City University of New York
California State University,
Fullerton Department of Social Work/Universidad Tecnológica de Chile (INACAP) CSUF/INACAP Service-Learning Program
Julie Wright,
California State University, Fresno,
School of Social Work
2019 Mashura Akilova,
Columbia University
  Fresno State University Student Group 
Ewan Duarte, Cynthia Reyes, Carina Garsilazo, Mariah Torres,
Miryam Ayala, Jessica Camarillo, Marissa Carrillo, Lourdes Nungaray, Phong Moua, Romylyn Teale, Alejandra Rodriguez Perez, James Borunda, Christine Andrew, Romyna Teale, Lourdes Nungaray Quezada, and Sarah Carr
2018 Shirley Gatenio Gabel, Fordham University Hispanic Family Counseling Sherise Truman,
University of Connecticut
2017 David Engstrom, San Diego State University Texas Muslim Women’s Foundation Carlos A. Reyes-Ruiz,
University of Southern California
2016 María Vidal de Haymes, Loyola University, Chicago Brittany’s Hope Patricia Talisse,
Fordham University
2015 Julia M. Watkins,
Southeast Europe Academic Women’s Leadership Initiative
Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation Bonita B. Sharma,
University of Texas-Arlington
2014 Susan Mapp,
Elizabethtown College 
Gulf Coast Jewish Family & Community Services, Refugee Services University of Connecticut,
Center for International Social Work Studies  
2013 Uma A. Segal,
University of Missouri–St. Louis
Buckner International University of Houston,
Graduate College of Social Work
2012 Rich Furman,
University of Washington
Books for Africa University of Washington/Royal University of Phnom Penh (program)
2011 Patricia Lager American International Health Alliance The Catholic University of America,
National Catholic School of Social Service
2010 Frank Raymond Society for Haitian Arts, Culture, and Social Support  Florida State University,
College of Social Work
2009 M. C. "Terry" Hokenstad University of Ljubljana’s International Doctoral Studies PRONI Center for Social Work Education 
2008 Fred Ahearn, Catholic University of America   Southern Illinois University-Carbondale
2007 Doreen Elliot and Nazneen Mayadas,
University of Texas-Arlington
  Council on International Programs,
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
2006 James Midgley,
University of California–Berkeley
BSW Mexico Consortium of the Minnesota/South Dakota Area University of Illinois and University of Addis Ababa,
Jane Addams College of Social Work
2005 Richard Estes,
University of Pennsylvania
  Monmouth University School of Social Work
2004 Lynne Healy,
University of Connecticut
Council for International Exchange of Scholars

Washington University,
George Warren Brown School of Social Work