Overview of Practice Doctorate Program (PDP) Accreditation Standards

Since the accreditation pilot launch in October 2021 the Board of Accreditation (BOA) and CSWE staff have worked to review each benchmark stage and continue to evaluate pilot findings. As part of this process, the BOA is revising the Accreditation Standards for Professional Practice Doctoral Programs in Social Work, which were approved and adopted for pilot use in June 2020. An accreditation standards writing committee, consisting of BOA and Commission on Educational Policy (COEP) representatives, was established and developed draft accreditation standards for constituent and public feedback. For more information on Practice Doctorate Program accreditation visit the PDP Timeline of Activities, which documents the process from 2010-2025.

Standards and Feedback Survey

Feedback is now closed for Draft 1. Review Draft 1 below and stay tuned for Draft 2 feedback collection in Fall 2024 (timeline subject to change).

Public Feedback Session 

CSWE accreditation staff and members of the Board of accreditation gathered for a public session soliciting feedback on the draft 1 accreditation standards for practice doctorate social work programs on Monday, April 15th at 1:00pm - 2:45pm ET. Thank you to all who attended and provided questions and feedback.

Revision and Implementation Timeline

Opportunities for feedback on the draft accreditation standards will be provided throughout 2024. It is anticipated that additional practice doctoral programs will be able to seek accreditation in 2025, once the pilot concludes and accreditation standards have been adopted by the BOA. Additional information regarding the process to apply for accreditation can be expected in late 2024. 

*The timeline below is subject to change.*

PDP Standards Revision Committee Members 

BOA representatives: Mike Daley, Chair, (Texas A&M University-Central Texas), Antoinette Farmer (Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey), Tom Gregoire, BOA Chair (The Ohio State University); Randy Magen (Yeshiva University); Chris Mitchell (University of Illinois -Chicago); Larry Ortiz (Loma Linda University); James Herbert Williams (Arizona State University)

COEP representatives: Shirley Gatenio-Gabel, (Fordham University); Karen Rice (Millersville University)

CSWE staff: Megan Fujita, Vice President of Education / Executive Director of Accreditation; Kat Gibson-Ledl, Director of Accreditation Services