Professional Awards

CSWE proudly presents the Professional Awards during the Annual Program Meeting (APM). The Professional Awards are among CSWE’s highest honors and recognize outstanding educators for significant contributions to social work education.

Below you will find links to information on the recipients of these awards, which will be presented during the 69th APM, October 26–29, 2023, at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis. 
Significant Lifetime Achievement in Social Work Education Award
Dr. Edith Fraser
Distinguished Recent Contributions to Social Work Education Award
Dr. Jay Miller
Dean and Dorothy A. Miller Research Professor in Social Work Education, University of Kentucky College of Social Work
Early Career Faculty Service and Leadership in Social Work Education Award
Dr. Diana Margarita Padilla-Medina
Assistant Professor at the Beatriz Lassalle Graduate School of Social Work at the University of Puerto Rico
Established Faculty Service and Leadership in Social Work Education Award
Dr. Joan Blakey
Director, Gamble Skogmo Endowed Chair and Associate Professor, University of Minnesota – Twin Cities


Commission and Council Awards

Every year CSWE commissions and councils honor and celebrate social work scholars, students, and educators for their contributions to social work and social work education. Follow the links to learn more about the awards and the awardees.

Two-Spirit, Queer, and Trans People of Color (2-QTPOC) Social Work Impact Award
Braveheart Gillani, Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences at Case Western Reserve University

Community Partnership Action Award
Kotomi Yokokura, University of Kentucky
Jordan Davenport, Tuskegee University

Council on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity and Expression Scholarship Award
Charles Hoy-Ellis, University of Washington
Karen Frederiksen-Goldsen, University of Washington
Hyun-Jun Kim, University of Washington

Council on the Role and Status of Women in Social Work Education (CORSW) Community Impact Award
Ijeoma Opara, PhD, MSW, MPH, Yale University

CORSW Feminist Manuscript Award
Sandra Leotti, University of Wyoming
Jennifer S. Muthanna, Portland State University
Ben Anderson-Nathe, Portland State University

CORSW Feminist Scholar Award
Leslie Tower, West Virginia University

Disability Manuscript Award
Stephanie L. Baird, King's University College
Ami Goulden, Memorial University
Honorable Mention: Mustafa Rfat, Washington University in St. Louis; YingYing Zeng, Washington Unviersity in St. Louis/University of Georgia; Yibin Yang, Boston University; Kusum Adhikari, Adelphia University; Yiqi Zu, Adelphi University

Partners in Advancing International Education Award
Karen Smith Rotabi-Casares, California Sate University Monterey Bay
Student: Regina Wu, New York University

Awards Criteria

Applicants/nominees do not need to be a member of CSWE.