2023 Grantees

The Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) is pleased to announce the grantees for the first cohort of the Substance Use Disorders Education and Leadership Scholars Program.

First year's grantees are as follows:

University of Alaska Anchorage
Program director: Kathi R. Trawver, PhD, LMSW  
Field instructor: Bre Cason, LCSW
Selected students: Daniela Newman and Mya Robinson

The University of Texas at Arlington
Program director: Micki Washburn, PhD, LMSW, MA, LPC-S
Field instructor: Melissa Flores MSW, LCDC
Selected students: Crystal Kinmon, LCDC-I and Steven Silva Brave, LCDC-I

Ramapo College of New Jersey
Program director: Stephanie Elias Sarabia, PhD, LCSW, LCADC
Field instructor: Jessica Fernandez
Selected students: Jillian Carbine and Arielle Aigotti

Clark Atlanta University
Program director: Shena Brown, PhD, LCSW, MAC 
Field instructor: Lisa Rudeseal, LPC 
Selected students: Karissa Jackson and Kymiah Carpenter

St. Catherine University
Program director: Kia Lee, MSW, MBA, LICSW
Field instructor: Katy Armendariz, MSW, LICSW
Selected students: Sydney Brown and Roberta “Bertie” Sellers

North Carolina State University
Program director: Yarneccia Dyson, PhD, MSW
Field instructor: Berta Rice
Selected student: Leslye Herrera

Bridgewater State University
Program director: Taylor Hall, PhD
Field instructor: Taylor Hall, PhD
Selected students: Andrew Van Kleeck, Natasha Pacheco, and Adelaide Ostma

Florida Atlantic University
Program director: Heather Howard, PhD, MSW, LICSW (MA,RI), LCSW-QS
Field instructor: Nancy McConnell
Selected students: Erica Santiago and Nicole Tartal

Southern Connecticut State University
Program director: Krystal P. Finch, DSW, LCSW
Field instructor: Nicole D. Paul, MSW, LCSW
Selected students: Lykeyia Lesane and Ty Poole

St. Edward's University
Program director: Natalie Beck Aguilera, DSW, LCSW-S and Laurie Cook Heffron, PhD, LMSW
Field instructor: Laura Elmore
Selected students: Sarah Bader and Lillian Huizar